Thursday, November 1, 2012

"Double Time: Sinners on Tour" By: Olivia Cunning Review

Double Time (Sinners on Tour, #3)
"Double Time"
By: Olivia Cunning

Synopsis from Goodreads
Trey Mills, the notoriously sexy Sinners rhythm guitarist, gives up his bisexual lifestyle and is swept into a hot, heady romance with Reagan Elliot, a female rock star sensation. But when Trey encounters Reagan's sexy bisexual roommate, Ethan Conner, he can no longer deny who he is or what he wants. Reagan heartily agrees to a solution that opens up a hot new world of sexual experience--and love--with the two men she wants the most.

My Thoughts
   I read my first Olivia Cunning book this past May around my birthday. I remember it pretty vividly because after I read “Backstage Pass” I immediately ran to my computer and purchased the second title, “Rock Hard” for my nook. I have read her other series and enjoyed them. Olivia Cunning has an amazing way of writing characters that you know inside and out and you love them for it. Sadly though, “Double Time” is completely missing the magic her other books have.
    First off lets talk about the sequencing of these books. Other reviewers have mentioned it too, but its a supremely bad play on both the publisher and Olivia’s part to release the last book in the series third. I have NEVER seen this done before and have to wonder at the motivation for it. Two other band members who are going to be getting books are actively talked about and the women they decide to marry. Why would they release the last book third? It ruins the others happily ever after and honestly dampens my enthusiasm for their books.
    I’ve loved Trey since the first book when it became clear he was wildly in love with Brian. He was heartfelt, earnest, and just so gosh dang sweet. He deserved his happily ever and he deserved a good one.
    When Trey encounters Reagan there is a guitar contest and she wins. Shortly after she joins him in the hot tub and then later that evening they get frisky with one another. Same day, same night, just within a few hours they are “in love” with one another and Trey is thinking about how good of a woman Reagan is. It seemed rushed, unrealistic to the extreme, and not in character with Trey whatsoever.
      Beyond this quick meet and greet so to speak, Trey is automatically attracted to Reagan’s male roommate. Reagan ok’s this relationship because Trey wants it but that too seemed rushed and just forced. As I read the story I kept shaking my head and thinking there was no way she’d do that. The m/m storyline didn’t bother me, but the just general lack of concern on Reagan’s part bothered me. My boyfriend wants to invite another person into our bed, ok, that’s cool. That’s pretty much all of the thought process that goes through her mind but in my mind I’d at least be asking some questions.
      There were some enjoyable parts. I think Olivia does a wonderful job of writing guys just hanging out and I really liked seeing the bandmates interact. They are funny and serious but also with that quality of realness that is enjoyable to read.
      So what should you do if you are a fan of this series? To be honest, I skimmed a lot of it because it seemed like one sexual encounter after another, with very little story. That bit of story was split into unrealistic actions on the behalf of Trey and Reagan and then interactions with the bandmates. I am glad I read the other parts, they were funny and enjoyable. However, on the whole I was unimpressed and frankly disappointed. Here’s hoping that the next installment, “Hot Ticket” featuring Jace and Aggie is much better!

I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Book Details
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Date of Publication: November 6, 2012
# of Pages: 416
ISBN: 978-1402271519

Olivia Cunnings’ Sinners on Tour Series
“Hot Ticket” (Feb 2013)
“Snared” (2013)

No comments:

Post a Comment