Friday, June 27, 2014

"Cowboy Take Me Away" By: Lorelei James Review

Cowboy Take Me Away
By: Lorelei James

The moment Carson McKay saw the sexy blonde at the dance hall, he wanted to throw her over his saddle and gallop hell-bent toward the closest church. Given his reputation as a lover and a fighter-not necessarily in that order-it wasn't surprising she gave him the cold shoulder. But he hadn't expected the mean right hook when he tried to steal a kiss.

Carolyn West might look sweet and innocent, but she's no fool. The good-looking cowboy with the heart-stopping smile didn't really want to marry her; he just wanted to take her for a test ride. But when he kisses her a second time, she doesn't fight her burning attraction to him...until she learns he's one of the McKay cowboys she's been warned about.

Carson doesn't care about the long-standing feud between their families; he knows that Carolyn was meant to be his. And the more intimate they become, the more Carolyn sees the real man behind the wild cowboy reputation-a man who wants the same forever kind of love she does...and who will lead her into a love story that spans fifty years.

My Thoughts
     Carson and Carolyn McKay have long been the backbone of the McKay family. Through fifteen books the family has dealt with love, heartbreak, death and birth. Now in the sixteenth book, Lorelei James delves into the most unforgettable couple in the entire series, where it all started, fifty years ago with Carolyn West and Carson McKay.
      Carson found Carolyn in a bar decades ago in the wilds of Wyoming. After over fifty years together, they have a lifetime of memories together...both good and bad. As Carson and Carolyn reminisce, they share their life stories with one another and other family members.
      Lorelei James has written one of the most perfect books I have ever read. A stunning conclusion to the Rough Riders series. I adored how she approached Carson and Carolyn’s relationship. Beginning like your traditional McKay romance, we see their initial meeting and watch as they fall in love. However, what sets this book apart, we follow their marriage, the births of their children, and the sometimes desperation of ranching.
     The reader sees some of the most pivotal points in the McKay history. You’ve seen it or heard it from the point of view of their children, but we live it with them as they recount their times together. I loved seeing Carolyn’s relationships with her children grow and change as they aged. My absolute favorite scene is the birth of Keely, the only girl after five boys born.
      The emotional intensity of Cowboy Take Me Away is awe inspiring. The bonds between the characters and the relationships created and maintained are what truly make this series special. With the trademark James sexytimes, I found myself laughing out loud, and couldn’t help but sniffle back a tear in a few places. A perfect ending to a wonderful series, I’ll be honest, the book was bittersweet but perfect for me.

Book Details
Date of Publication: June 17, 2014
# of Pages: 505
ISBN: 9781619223974
Location: Wyoming

Rough Riders Series
1. Long Hard Ride
2. Rode Hard, Put Up Wet
3. Cowgirl Up and Ride
4. Tied Up, Tied Down
5. Rough, Raw and Ready
6. Branded as Trouble
6.5 Strong, Silent Type
7. Shoulda Been a Cowboy
8. All Jacked Up
10. Cowgirls Don't Cry
14. Gone Country
15. Redneck Romeo

1 comment:

  1. I can't wait to read this one. I love this series and I'm sad for it to end. :-(